The secret ingredient that makes everything better: Nut butter

Ah, the creamy (or crunchy) goodness they call nut butter. I may be a little bias, but I think nut butter was one of the best man-made foods to grace this Earth. In decadent desserts or in savory fare, nut butter has earned its place in my household as the ingredient that makes everything better.

What’s not to love? It’s sweet, rich, creamy and satisfying. As I sneakily hide in my pantry, devouring and savoring the last bite of nut butter, I’m reminded how comforting and nostalgic it makes me feel.  Then I had a revelation: why don’t I add nut butter to my everyday cooking? So, I did.

News flash: nut butter isn’t just for jelly sandwiches anymore. This nutty and buttery treat compliments cuisines by adding just the right amount of nuttiness. Get creative! Experiment with different types of nut butters like peanut, almond, pistachio and cashew. Own a food processor? Make your own! It’ll save you money and you’ll know exactly what is in it. No added sugar, salt or artificial fillers!

Stir Frys or satays:

A dollop of nut butter in steamy stir frys or satays goes a long way in making even the spiciest foods, delectably sweet and rich. When paired with ginger, sesame seeds and soy sauce, nut butter livens sautéed veggies and meat up.

Get the recipehttp://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/quick-peanut-chicken-stir-fry

Ice Cream:

What if I told you that you can make vegan ice cream with just two ingredients? It’s true! Grab some frozen bananas and a heaping helping of your choice of nut butter and blend away. Instant creamy and dreamy ice cream without the dairy (or guilt)!

Get the recipe: http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/two-ingredient-banana-peanut-butter-ice-cream/

Cookies or bars:

Looking for an easy dessert that satisfies your cravings and takes only 10 minutes? Because of its sweet creamy goodness, nut butter is a perfect ingredient in desserts like cookies or bars. For a nuttier flavor, try adding crushed nuts as a topping. Give these 3-ingredient cookies a whirl!

Get the recipe: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/3-ingredient-peanut-butter-cookies/

Dips or frosting:

If you’re looking for a sweet garnish for your treats or something to dip your goodies in, nut butter-based dips are perfect. Filled with protein and good fat, nut butter is a healthy alternative to fat-laden dressing, dips and frostings.

Get the recipe: http://skinnyms.com/skinny-peanut-butter-yogurt-dip/

Eggs:

I know what you’re thinking. I was skeptical at first, but once I discovered this heavenly creation, my mouth waters just thinking about it. Something about salty, fluffy eggs and the creaminess of nut butter gets me going. It’s the new PB & J!

Get the recipe: http://blueisbleu.blogspot.com/2013/11/fried-eggs-and-peanut-butter.html

Smoothies:

I drink green smoothies every morning. Obviously I add my greens, fruit and almond milk, but I can’t forget a scoop (or two) of nut butter as well to get my fats and protein in. Nut butter coats your stomach so you stay fuller longer. It’s like Christmas morning in my mouth.

Get the recipehttp://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/green-peanut-butter-smoothie

For more nutty recipes, I suggest perusing through and/or purchasing a peanut butter cookbook. It’s the best investment I’ve made in a long time. Find some on Amazon

Enjoy, friends 🙂

-Kailee

Leave a Reply

