Clean eating? How do I even start?

Hello readers!

I thought I would take time to introduce myself. I am Kailee. I grew up a spunky girl in a small town in Iowa where I now reside with my husband, Cole and puppy, Jax. I received my education from Wartburg College, a private liberal arts college, where I studied Communications and Spanish. I got married in September 2012 and have been living my fairy tale ever since.

I’ve always had a passion for traveling, adventure and trying new things. Unfortunately, being adventurous didn’t apply to trying new foods. My mother never really forced me to eat anything I didn’t like. So, naturally, chicken nuggets and fries were my staple foods. In college, I stuck to the basics–pasta, bread, chicken, pizza and soup–the typical student diet of champions. I went for convenience over health every time. I wasn’t a fan of vegetables, ethnic foods or even lettuce! I didn’t think anything of it because I was never truly overweight or felt like my health was in jeopardy. I was walking every day to class, was comfortable in my own skin and had the luxary of a free wellness center–I was golden.


In fact, it wasn’t until January 2013 when I stepped on the scale and saw that terrifying number. A number that I thought I would never see. Not only that, but my BMI was hitting close to the obese category. It completely consumed me. I started noticing my self-esteem plummeting. My clothes didn’t fit, I didn’t feel ‘sexy’ and I made excuses when people asked me to go to the beach. I couldn’t believe I ever let myself get that bad! At my heaviest weight ever, I decided something needed to be done.

After my sister-in-law’s friend told me about ‘clean eating’ and how she lost 20 some pounds and now has the energy of a 7-year old school boy, I decided to do my research. I’ve always been active–both in sports and working out so I didn’t understand how food could do all that. If diets didn’t work for me in the past, how is cutting out my favorite foods and cooking all my meals going to last long-term? I had a lot of doubts. It won’t work for ME. I can’t do THIS. How will I have TIME? I CAN’T afford it. I won’t EVER lose/gain weight.

Well, folks, after taking the plunge on January 7th 2013, I can proudly say I have been clean eating for 5 months now and have lost 31.5 pounds, 45 inches all over my body and have lost 2 pant sizes. I have also learned ways to measure my progress without relying on that daunting scale. This lifestyle is not a diet, it is a choice YOU make to better your body inside and out. No, it’s not easy. In fact, it tests your willpower every darn day. I’m here to tell you that you CAN do it. You CAN afford it and you DO have time. Don’t make excuses for yourself because you are SO worth it. Take charge of your weight/health/fitness now before it is too late. Your health is a beautiful thing, don’t let it go to ‘waist’ (pun intended).

What is clean eating and where do I get started? I am glad you asked. I have created this blog to answer questions about eating clean, to post tips and tricks that have helped me overcome cravings, temptations and doubt as well as to post recipes that are easy, fun and inexpensive!

I have attached a link to give you some background information about clean eating and ideas for recipes to get you started!


http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/what-is-clean-eating


Follow me on my journey and I will help you start yours!

-Kailee

Leave a Reply

